Kultur Aktiv supports Visa free Europe

free visa europe avatar„Whoever wants to visit Germany often has a tough time” says Mirko Sennewald, chairman of Kultur Aktiv. The cause for that are the barriers related to the visa application. Since the travelling agencies do the applications, this doesn’t affect mass tourism as much as it affects individual travel and –despite the simplified rules- also artists, scientists and athletes. Thus Kultur Aktiv has decided to join the pan-European initiative “Visa-free coalition”.

Sennewald points out that “unfortunately, we consistently face various difficulties during our running work”. For instance, the exchange between Kultur Aktiv and the Ukraine was paused during the past six years, since Ukrainian activists had been dismissed by the embassy in Kiev again and again. “They weren’t bandits, as one may suppose, but honorable persons, such as the director of the civic museums of a Western Ukrainian City, an art professor and artists, who’ve been to the European Union before”, Sennewald explains. Kultur Aktiv’s present volunteer from Armenia arrived in Dresden several weeks late, after she filled in a wrong form notwithstanding the embassy’s duty to advise her. “This affects us financially and leaves gaps we have to refill by using other resources”, Sennewald continues.

Thus Kultur Aktiv has joined the pan-European initiative “Visa-free coalition”. We are the third German member and the only one from Dresden by now. Thereby Kultur Aktiv wants to send a signal and calls up other NGOs and initiatives for joining the initiative as well in order to spread the call for visa dispensation.

The European neighboring states with visa requirement include Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia. Vice versa, for German citizens there are visa requirements in Belarus, Azerbaijan and Russia. The rest of the states have already abolished them. Especially Georgia registers a boom especially in the tourist sector by now.

Sennewald is also appreciative of the general public’s anxiety, but clarifies: “Visa requirement couldn’t stop cross-border crime by now, since those, who cash in on it have always found ways to cross the borders.” Visas are not an effective instrument to replace wanting staff in the border region.

Further information: www.visa-free-europe.eu !

Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Kultur Aktiv unterstützt Visa free Europe

free visa europe avatarWer Deutschland besuchen möchte, hat es oft nicht leicht“, so der Vorsitzende von Kultur Aktiv, Mirko Sennewald. Ursache seien die schwierigen Hürden bei der Beantragung eines Visums. Weniger leide der Massentourismus darunter, da übernehmen Reisebüros die Beantragung, deutlich schwieriger sei es aber vor allem für Individualtouristen und – trotz vereinfachter Regeln – auch Künstler, Wissenschaftler und Sportler. Der Verein hat sich daher nun der europaweiten Initiative „Visa-free coalition“ (Koalition für Visabefreiung) angeschlossen.

„Wir haben leider immer wieder Schwierigkeiten bei unserer laufenden Arbeit“, betont Sennewald, so sei der Austausch mit der Ukraine in den vergangenen sechs Jahren ausgesetzt worden, weil Antragsteller bei der Botschaft in Kiew immer wieder abgelehnt worden waren. „Darunter nicht etwa Banditen, sondern honorige Personen wie der Leiter der städtischen Museen einer westukrainischen Stadt, ein Kunstprofessor und Künstler, die bereits zuvor in der EU waren“, erläutert Sennewald. Die jetzige freiwillige Mitarbeiterin des Vereins aus Armenien kam mehrere Wochen zu spät in Dresden an, nachdem sie trotz Beratungspflicht der Botschaft ein falsches Formular ausgefüllt hatte. „Das hat für uns auch finanzielle Konsequenzen und reißt Löcher, die wir aus anderen Mitteln wieder stopfen müssen“, so Sennewald weiter.

Der Verein hat sich daher nun der europaweiten Initiative „Visa-free coalition“ (Koalition für Visabefreiung) angeschlossen und ist damit das dritte deutsche Mitglied und das einzige aus Dresden bisher. Kultur Aktiv wolle damit ein Zeichen setzen und ruft andere Vereine und Initiativen auf, ebenfalls beizutreten, um den Ruf nach Visabefreiung hörbarer zu machen.

Zu den europäischen Nachbarstaaten mit Visapflicht gehören Belarus, Ukraine, Moldawien, Georgien, Armenien, Aserbaidschan und Russland. Für deutsche Staatsbürger gilt umgekehrt die Visapflicht noch in Belarus, Aserbaidschan und Russland, alle anderen Staaten haben die Visapflicht bereits aufgehoben. Insbesondere Georgien verzeichnet seither einen deutlichen Aufschwung, vor allem im touristischen Sektor.

Sennewald versteht auch die Bedenken der Bevölkerung, erläutert aber: “Der Grenzkriminalität konnte bisher die Visapflicht auch nichts entgegensetzen, denn diejenigen, die dort das große Geschäft machen, haben immer Mittel und Wege gefunden, um die Grenzen zu überwinden“. Die Ausstellung von Visa sei kein probates Mittel, fehlendes Personal in der Grenzregion zu ersetzen.

Weitere Informationen: www.visa-free-europe.eu !

Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment