Obituary of Filip Topol

Dear friends!
When the piano stops playing, only silence remains. Now it has stopped playing forever and together with it one of the greatest artists from the Czech neighboring country, who has ever graced us with his presence. At the age of 48, Filip Topol passed away in Prague on 06/19/2013.

In 2002, our association had existed just for a couple of months, when Filip and his brother Jachym enriched one of the first Pragomania festivals in Dresden and other Saxonian cities with their concerts. He was a newcomer here, but a legend in our neighboring country. He knew how to captivate the auditory. His concerts were orgies, carried by pain and agony, but also an exceedingly intellectual examination of reality. Like his brother, he grew up in the oppositional CSSR underground. Despite his successful career, he stayed a down-to-earth guy and with the folks ‘til the end. This is something that connects us.

“Tezko rict”, his last album with his band Psi Vojaci from 2003 probably hits the point (engl. difficult to say). So on such a day it’s also difficult for me to say something. I think I’ll go to that Jim Beams Bar, where he used to play and drink a whisky in his honor, even when the piano is going to remain silent…

Mirko

Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment

Nachruf auf Filip Topol

Liebe Freunde, still wird es, wenn das Piano schweigt. Nun schweigt es für immer. Und mit ihm einer der großartigsten Künstler aus dem tschechischen Nachbarland, der uns je beehrt hat. Mit 48 Jahren ist Filip Topol am 19.06.13 in Prag gestorben.

Unser Verein war im Jahre 2002 erst wenige Monate alt, als Filip mit seinem Bruder Jachym eines der ersten Pragomania-Festivals in Dresden und anderen Städten Sachsens mit seinen Konzerten bereicherte. Im Nachbarland war er eine Legende, hier ein Neuling. Aber er verstand, das Publikum zu faszinieren. Seine Konzerte waren Orgien, getragen von Schmerz und Qual, aber auch einer überaus intellektuellen Auseinandersetzung mit der Realität. Wie sein Bruder wuchs er im oppositionellen Underground in der CSSR auf, blieb nach der Wende trotz Karriere am Boden und bei den einfachen Menschen, bis zum Schluss. Ein Punkt der uns sehr verbindet.

„Tezko rict“, sein letztes Album mit seiner Band Psi Vojaci noch aus dem Jahre 2003, trifft wohl den Punkt (dt.: „schwer zu sagen“). Und so fällt es auch mir schwer, etwas zu sagen an einem solchen Tag. Werde wohl mal in die Jim Beams Bar gehen, wo er einst aufspielte und einen Whisky auf ihn trinken, auch wenn das Piano schweigen wird…

Mirko

Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment